logo_europe_couleur_ue-300x227.jpg

INdIGO : INnovative fIshing Gear for Ocean

Fishing gear : a source of plastic pollution

Plastic pollution is a major threat to ecosystems. When lost at sea, fishing gear ( nets, traps...) can have a direct impact on marine wildlife that can become entangled. Microplastics, which come from plastic waste, can also be ingested and integrated into the food chain.

Biodegradable gear to reduce environmental impact

The aim of the INdIGO project is to develop innovation fishing gear that respects the marine ecosystem by developing new products with a controlled lifespan that are biodegradable in the marine environment. INdIGO also aims to improve the prevention and management of pollution generated by fishing and aquaculture gear by identifying collection points and existing recycling channels and by developing an App to locate gear that has already been lost.

New products that meet industrial expectations

INdIGO is a collaborative project between research organisations and companies on both sides of the Channel. The involvement of SMEs will enable the development of viable, competitive products and ensure economic sustainability by exploiting the results at the end of the project. Fishing and aquaculture professionnals wil bee involved throughout the project to ensure that the prototype biodegradabke fishing gear meets their needs.

How can you as a citizen make yourself useful in this project ?

The FISH&CLICK program ! The objective of this program is to identify fishing equipment ( net, fishhook, trap, etc...) lost or abandonned at sea and on the coast. Participate by reporting ! It will only take 2 minutes. To find the form click here, otherwise there is the Fish&Click application ( available on App store and Google Play).

infography-EN.jpg

logo interreg et ue.JPG

INdIGO : INovative fIshing Gear for Ocean

Les engins de pêche : source de pollution plastique marine

La pollution par le plastique est une menace majeure pour les écosystèmes. Lorsqu'ils sont perdus en mer, les engins de pêche ( filets,casiers..) peuvent avoir des conséquences directes sur la faune marine qui se retrouve enchevêtrée. Les microplastiques, issus de ces déchets peuvent aussi être ingérés et intégrés à la chaîne alimentaire.

Des filets biodégradables pour diminier l'impact environnemental

Le projet INdIGO a pour objectif de développer des engins de pêche innovants et plus respectueux de l'environnement marin en proposant de nouveaux produits à durée de vie contrôlée qui seront biodégradables dans l'environnement marin. INdIGO vise aussi à améliorer la prévention et la gestion des pollutions générées par les engins issus de la pêche et de l'aquaculture, en identidiant les points de collecte et les filières de recyclage existantes et en développant une application pour localiser les engins déjà perdus.

Répondre à des attentes industrielles

INdIGO est un projet collaboratif entre des acteurs de la recherche et des entreprises de part et d'autre de la Manche. L'implication des PME permettra de développer des produits compétitifs et d'assurer la durabilité économique en exploitant les résultats à la fin du projet. Les professionneles de la pêche et de l'aquaculture sont également impliqués tout au long du projet afin que les nouveaux engins correspondent à leurs besoins.

Comment pouvez-vous en tant que citoyen vous rendre utile dans ce projet ?

Le programme FISH&CLICK L'objectif de ce programme est de recenser le matériel de pêche ( filet, hameçon,casier...) perdu ou abandonné en mer et sur le littoral. Participez en signalant ! Cela ne vous prendra que 2 minutes. Pour retrouver le formulaire cliquez ici, sinon il existe l'application Fish&Click ( disponible sur Appstore & Google play)


infographie-FR.jpg